New presidential team and herd competition winners

The Irish Aberdeen Angus Association hosted the 2nd AGM late last month in Mullingar. This was the first in person AGM held since the formation of the new company.

The AGM seen a reshuffling of the council and indeed top table. In accordance with bylaws, council members can only sit for a maximum of three years, this meant that Albert De Cogan, Bryan O’Halloran and Dermot Lynch were all due to step down. Filling two of these seats was Enda Kearney in Munster and Anne Murphy in the Southeast.

This year also seen the presidential term of two years been met. President for the previous two years was John McEnroe who now goes into the role of Ex Officio.

Stepping up as new president is Cork based Eustace Burke, who occupied the position of vice president for the previous two years.

This then left the position of vice president free which was secured by John Tait of the Westellen herd.

Following the AGM a prize giving took place for the winners of the inaugural All-Ireland herds competition. This competition seen over 50 herds from across the island of Ireland judged by three different judges, one for each of the regional clubs. These judges were Cathy O Hara, Albert De Cogan, Tommy and Patrick Beirne.

The winners of each category -small, medium and large, then went onto the final against the winners of the other clubs. For this the judges were rotated to adjudicate the All-Irelands.

After a tough deliberation the winners of this were as follows:

Small herd – John Brady, Lisnafanna Herd, Co Cavan

Medium herd – Eustace Burke, Clontead herd, Co Cork

Large herd – Malachy Tighe, Tara herd, Co Meath